How does Hearthstone Matchmaking Work? Is there a mechanic to pair similar decks?


After playing for a few years, I notice that when I make a new deck, I will tend to get some wild opponent deck that may not be so good either. It’s like they reset any kind of algorithm placed against my deck and pair me against a very random player. But if I start winning and beating a lot of people with that deck for the first few games, I am quickly given opponents that have opposite decks that are better at countering my deck, or I’m even given an opponent with the same deck, like we both looked at Icy-veins together.

Could I keep changing my deck to get more wild opponents that make risky decks as well? How many cards do I have to change to reset my deck algorithm? Or am I making a wrong assumption about how Hearthstone match ups occur?

Leave a Reply

