Making Fire is not hard, the challenge is not getting in trouble with cops


i enjoy cooked food. However, because I’m homeless, my acess to cooked food is limited. Not only do 90% of the parks discourage fires, but everywhere else too. I am forced to sneak around and be as discrete as possible when I want to cook something. Witnesses are always bad to have around.

A fire attracts a lot of attention. You want to have the most minimal, invisible flame possible, but also maximize your cooking too. It’s a very difficult balance to strike. You want to be in as remote a place as possible to reduce the chances a cop drives up on you. Cops seem much more concerned about controlling drive able areas than anywhere else.

Cooking at night is inconceivable if there is any significant population around. You want to limit your cooking for daylight only. As much as it would be nice to have a fire at night, you live in a constant war zone as a homeless person. It’s better not to draw any attention to your location in the night. In fact, every park in America has an adult curfew at night to give cops power over people who might be there in the dark. It’s best to stick with the shadows rather than get attention.

Cooking utensils in public will communicate that you are trying to cook. It can be difficult to hide a big frying pan. You want to keep everything as compact as possible. People will grow curious about the recreational activities you engage in by your choice of gear. After enough witnesses pass by, your chances grow for getting reported to the cops.

Where there’s smoke there is fire. Not only does cooking produce smoke, but you have to control the steam from water vapor too. Even if you cook with gas that doesn’t leave smoke, the steam from your water will be w problem to control. Many people suspect you are burning something just by seeing steam.

I had the cops called on me for using my George Foreman grill in the Rice Lake, WI veterans park many times. I produced no fire, but the steam was enough to get people’s attention. I ended up having to throw the grill in the dumpster and give up on plug-in cooking. 

It costs money to cook with gas. I understand that the pop can cooker using HEET can keep costs down. I just bought a bootle of HEET for $1.99. I hope the cost won’t add up too much. The food stamps don’t pay for the fuel too. I want to incorporate more wood in my burning, but I also don’t want to attract cops either. It’s a difficult balance.

Leave a Reply

