Not all Post Offices Accept General Delivery, I found the hard way


This is news to me. After changing the address from a homeless shelter (that doesn’t accept mail) to a Post Office (also refuses mail) I am at a loss for words. I was told that the main post office will accept General Delivery. Now I have to find out where it is and change my address with the Dept of Health and Human Services again. 

I walked into the Post Office, waited 15 minutes while the employee helped one customer before me and then was told they can’t accept General Delivery mail. This isn’t something they advertise. It’s something you have to find out the hard way about.

I’ve been to about eight other Post Offices and had General Delivery sent to them with few problems, except for the guy who charged me extra postage for accepting a UPS box. He was a jerk. Otherwise, I thought it was assumed that all Post Offices took General Delivery. So, it is not true that all Post Offices take general delivery.

What else dont I know about the post offices? They probably really do read people’s mail too.

https://youtu.be/AUWBdqbQRks

2 thoughts on “Not all Post Offices Accept General Delivery, I found the hard way

Leave a Reply

