Walking Ecola Park Trail from Seaside Side; Oregon


I walked south from Seaside into Ecola Park. Parking is free. There were signs that said a camp is 4 miles away inside and another point is 7 miles. I never reached the 4 miles because I got lost. The trail is not very clear. I may have taken a wrong turn somewhere.

As far as I got was to an incredibly large tree that fell down. From that point, the trail was not so clearly marked. I found myself walking through a lot of brush Here

This is called a second growth forest. If they are referring to the lumberjack days, then I guess that second growth would have started in the late 1800s. Many of the trees are massive and the vegetation very dense.

There are no large animals roaming around in this forest. I only seen little critters like frogs bugs and birds.

Its impossible to bicycle the trail with the unstable nature of it. Many places either have bumpy roots or very rocky surface. Also, the trail is very steep too. You won’t find much flat ground to ride here.

I came across some campers and their pitbull attacked me. I was a little nervous about the dog since that kind of breed bites very hard. There were 2 or 3 tents up. There is a sign that says no overnight parking, but it doesn’t say anything about overnight camping. These guys took the chance on a Saturday night to overnight park, and it looks like the cops didn’t bother them. I bet the weekdays are a little more dangerous for cops.

Let me further add that the campers were packing their stuff up at about 8:30am to get going. I just happened to come across them while they were packing up to leave. It was 3 males and a dog.

I find it quite amusing how some lady gave the mountain to Oregon. Who exactly did she buy the mountain from? The Indians? As far as I understand, the Indians were pretty much nomadic and never owned any one particular piece of property. We are supposed to appreciate this one lady single-handedly put a stop to the logging so that we could enjoy the majestic beauty rather than have more lumber supplies to build homes.

She was said to be inspired by a single quote from Louis when he mentioned the view. I think he appreciated the vantage point of looking down on everything more so than appreciating nature. All they saw was nature and just took it for granted. In fact they were more prone to hack, slash and burn away at the vegetation to get through it.

Now we are in a position to try and preserve the nature and are encouraged not to destroy it like our ancestors. It’s quite a different perspective that we have to take on.

Leave a Reply

