Big Bulky Blackberries Hug the Northwestern Coast


I have never eaten so many blackberries in my life. At first, when I started eating some in Raymond, I developed terrible headache. I thought I may have had an allergy to them.

Then after slowly testing out berries in other patches, I found I wasn’t getting the same terrible headaches. I felt fine and started eating more and more at a time. I got to the point in Hammond, OR where I ate so many that my stomach felt slightly ill. But that passed. My head didn’t hurt at all.

Now, I do believe that the blackberries in Raymond, WA were not safe to eat. I found them along a paved trail between South Bend and Raymond. 

Here is a short Vine of me eating more delicious blackberries on the beach in Hammond, WA. They tasted great.

<script async src=”//platform.vine.co/static/scripts/embed.js” charset=”utf-8″></script>

Unfortunately, I can see they are starting to ferment and mold on the bushes now. The leaves don’t as healthy as they did a couple months back. It looks like my blackberry days are numbered here. I will have to wait until next year before I can enjoy them again.

Leave a Reply

