Why is it So Important to House the Homeless With Greedy Landlords?


Imagine dealing with someone who never feels like they have to step outside of their comfort zone. The Landlord becomes perfectly content in their quaint routines of collecting rents. They don’t really have any other duty besides demanding what they feel is owed to them for doing nothing.

I remember when I owned a house at one time. I enjoyed the collection of rent. It was a simple process and I felt completely entitled to it. When someone wasn’t able to pay right away, I would get furious. I thought about how easily I could throw all their stuff onto the street and lock them out of the house. My psychology changed and it really felt like an easy role to play, as a territorial bully.

I never had to step outside of my comfort zone to perform landlord duties. I expected everyone to seek me out. I wanted the potential renters to feel a desire for a place to sleep. I wasn’t selling a vacuum here, where they knock door to door. I needed people to come to me first, because that gave me the upper hand in negotiating.

Of course, I advertised that I had spare bedrooms to rent, but that is not hard to do by using flyers or craigslist ads. I still left my contact information for anyone to get a hold of me.

A homeless person is to be thought of someone who is most desperate to have a place live. They won’t have landlords lining up to bid for them to live at their places. Never in history has a landlord ever begged for a homeless person to live at their place. It makes no economic sense. The housing game only works one way, which is in the favor of the owner.

With “At Will” employment, the boss can fire an employee any time they like for no reason. I think the housing market works on that same level. A landlord can evict a tenant any time they like for no good reason. In fact, you can draw a lot of similar parallels between housing and employment. For example, more people are turning towards low paying service jobs that may not offer many hours. As a result they will accept low rent units. Very few people own their own businesses, let alone own their own homes.

I believe there is a good chance that the people who own their own business, also own their own home too.

After I sold my house, I began renting. I chose the cheapest places and lived with the landlords. Every single one of them were terrible people. All 5 that I lived with. I was shocked to learn how badly the owners will treat their tenants. To be homeless is certainly more of a relief from the attitudes of the landlords.

They act like spiders with you caught in their web. They will toy with your emotions, raising rent a little bit while you are there. They will create more rules on top of the ones they already had. They will say and do weird and disturbing things. All of these actions never require them to step outside of their comfort zone. They actually conduct themselves well within their comfort zones, and this makes their personalities more bizarre.

When you are looking for a job, you are stepping outside your comfort zone. When you go to a party, you are stepping outside your comfort zone. When you go camping, you are stepping outside of your comfort zone, a little bit. To step outside your comfort zone means doing actions that you don’t have something to hide behind. A landlords easily walls themselves off from responsibility.

I understand what its like to be homeless, a tenant, and a landlord. Overall, I prefer being homeless over all 3 choices. Being homeless could be better if it wasn’t for the Cops harassing me so much. I don’t have to worry about other people, only the cops. The reason homelessness is better is because you break free from the awful landlord-tenant relationship that develops. You don’t realize how bad landlords are until you play their games with them. They always win the game and gloat about it.

I was a little naive while in the military. They provided free housing. Then, when I got out of the military, I bought a house and owned it until the Housing Market Crash of 2007. Then I tried renting, where I was evicted from house after house. It was an awful experience. I took my home ownership for granted. No one could tell me to leave my own home. However, by owning a house, I felt very stuck there too. I felt trapped through ownership which was also a depressing feeling.

I feel better about being a mobile homeless person. I’m free from the terrible housing game. There are better games to play than that one. Try and think of the worst game you ever played, that can be like the housing game.

Leave a Reply

