The Willpower Diet; Choosing the Right Food Can Take the Strength of this Trait.


A tipping point occurred in the early 1980s where Coke switched from using cane sugar to the cheaper High Fructose Corn Syrup. This was the pinnacle that dramatically changed American health. New diseases related to obesity began to emerge like never before. Sensitivity issues became more common with our emotions and the language changed with it.

Terms like metabolic syndrome, diabetes and obesity became more mainstream. Very few people suffered these physical problems before. People became more addicted to the extracts and craved more of them. His compiled the problem even more.

All of a sudden the savings and growth that were realized by Coke were noticed by other food manufacturers. They saw that not only did Coke save more money, it also made more money too. There was a lot to gain for the food manufacturers from this sugar extract.

I remember a time in the 1980s where I didn’t like the taste of water. It was very bland and I appealing. I much preferred the taste of sodas. The majority of the sodas tasted great too. I sometimes experimented at the soda machine and mixed several unique tastes together to concoct new and different formulas. For example, I mixed 7UP, Mountain Dew, and Coke together to create a unique taste.

There different sodas may have seemed unique from each other, but they still shared a lot of similarities, which is HFCS. I didn’t know the damage I was doing to my health back then, I thought this was how everybody always lived.

Looking back at my childhood now, if I think about it. When I was really experimenting with sugar extracts was when there was a HFCS revolution going on in the grocery stores, fast food restaurants and vending machines. When I was 10 years old, Coke was already 5 years into their switch with sugars.

I never bothered to exercise any willpower against my desire for sugar extracts. I didn’t know there were limits to how much I should consume. If I was hungry, I was just going to eat whatever I wanted. I didn’t know any better because I wasn’t taught what was right or wrong. My mom was very fat, so she wasn’t someone to ask. My dad seemed to keep himself in good shape, but he seemed to enjoy sugar quite a lot.

Genetics is an important factor in obesity. Regardless of whether someone adds weight or not, they still can suffer from fatty liver disease. It may not show outwardly on many people’s bodies, but internally they still experience health problems.

What is willpower? Is it learned or is it built in? I believe willpower is both learned and naturally built in. I believe in Chinese Face Reading where certain features of our faces can give clues to our personalities. So, willpower can be found in the chin. The longer your chin is, the stronger your willpower. If you can grow a beard, you can extend the willpower even more.

Willpower can help us resist temptations, but can also get us into trouble as well. Someone with strong willpower can beat their heads against a wall and not give in to the pain as much as someone with weak willpower. That is something to be aware of.

Willpower is also learned through discipline. People can be taught willpower techniques that help them maintain a stronger resolve. Many times, you have to be in the right frame of mind to practice effective willpower to resist or persevere. This might take some coaching along, but it will come with enough practice.

When it comes to eating the right foods, willpower helps you resist the bad ones. But, many times, the health nuts may eat too much of the same kinds of healthy foods. This can be a willpower issue, where they willed themselves into too much of a good thing to avoid a bad one. You need to be aware of overdoing similar kinds of foods too frequently.

20140609-132438-48278122.jpg

Leave a Reply

